What's a League?

The MSPDP helps schools to form leagues for regular competition. Leagues may be composed of as few as three schools, but most have between 12 and 15 schools participating. Most leagues have 6 Saturday competitions during the year, with the competitive season running from October through April. New leagues form every year depending on interest. To charter a MSPDP league, you must have at least three schools with teachers committed to train as debate coaches. Then MSPDP staff will provide professional development for teachers and logistical support to ensure the new league can sustain tournament competition on its own. Every league receives a yearly site visit.

Where Are Your Leagues?

Currently, the MSPDP supports 24 leagues across the country. This list identifies the existing leagues. To contact your local league, or to find which is the right one for you, use the contact form on this website.

Northern California

East Bay Debate League: Contact League President Tim Vogt: tvogt[at]dorriseaton.com
South Bay Debate League: Contact League President Julius Ballesil: jballesil[at]stratfordschools.com
Capitol Region Debate League: Contact League President Michael Baradat: michael-baradat[at]scusd.edu

Southern California

Desert Valleys Debate League: Palm Springs area. Contact Beth Ferris for information: lrig[at]msn.com.
Golden State Debate League: San Fernando Valley and Conejo Valley. Contact League President Jennifer Bader: JBader[at]chaminade.org
Inland Valley Debate League: Includes Upland, Redlands, Temecula, Chino, Walnut, and Claremont. Contact League President Shelley Sprague: ssprague[at]cardenarborview.org>
Orange County Debate League: Contact Ben Hughes: bhughes[at]orangecountydebateleague.com.
Rancho California Debate League: San Gabriel Valley. Contact League President Katie Ward: katie.ward[at]polytechnic.org

New Jersey

Garden State Debate League: Includes most of New Jersey except for Shore area. Contact League President Dee Burek: deeburek[at]gmail.com.
Jersey Shore Debate League: Monmouth and Ocean counties. Contact League President Martin Tansey: mtansey[at]freeholdtwp.k12.nj.us.

New Orleans

Crescent City Debate League: Includes New Orleans. Contact Ryan McBride for information: rmcbride[at]tulane.edu.

New York

Three divisions in the city and surrounding areas. Contact Steven Fitzpatrick for information: sfitzpatrick[at]hackleyschool.org.