Below you will find information about leagues in North America (California, Colorado, Louisiana, Metro Washington, D.C, Area, New Jersey, and New York) and Africa (Kenya, South Africa, and Tanzania). If you are interested in bringing debate to middle schoolers in your area, please email Kate Shuster kate.shuster[at]gmail.com.

What's a League?

The MSPDP helps schools to form leagues for regular competition. Leagues may be composed of as few as three schools, but most have between 12 and 15 schools participating. Most leagues have four to six Saturday competitions during the year, with the competitive season running from October through April. New leagues form every year depending on interest. To charter a MSPDP league, you must have at least three schools with teachers committed to train as debate coaches. Then MSPDP staff will provide professional development for teachers and logistical support to ensure the new league can sustain tournament competition on its own. Every league receives a yearly site visit.

Where Are Your Leagues?

Currently, the MSPDP supports leagues across the U.S. and Africa. This list identifies the existing leagues. To contact your local league, or to find which is the right one for you, use the contact information below.

Programs in North America:

Northern California

East Bay Debate League League President Tim Vogt: tvogt[at]dorriseaton.com
South Bay Debate League League President Julius Ballesil: jballesil[at]stratfordschools.com
Capitol Region Debate League League President Michael Baradat: michael-baradat[at]scusd.edu

Southern California

Desert Valleys Debate League (Palm Springs area) League President Malyssa McCubbin: mmccubbin1[at]psusd.us
Golden State Debate League (San Fernando Valley and Conejo Valley) League President Jennifer Bader: JBader[at]chaminade.org
Inland Valley Debate League (Upland, Redlands, Temecula, Chino, Walnut, and Claremont) League President Shelley Sprague: ssprague[at]cardenarborview.org
Orange County Debate League League President Mark Hobbes: mhobbs[at]ocdl.org
Pacific Coast Debate League (Palos Verdes and West LA) - League President Akunna Uka: auka[at]newroads.org
Rancho California Debate League (Pasadena and San Gabriel Valley) League President Katie Ward: katie.ward[at]polytechnic.org

Click the image below to enlarge a map of Southern California MSPDP leagues.

 
 

Colorado

Douglas County Debate League League President Mary Burnham: mcburnham[at]dcsdk12.org

Louisiana

Crescent City Debate League (New Orleans) League President Ryan McBride: rmcbride[at]tulane.edu

Metropolitan Washington, D.C. Area

Nation's Capital Debate League (Northern Virginia, Southern Maryland, and the District) League President Mike Risin: MRisen[at]norwoodschool.org

New Jersey

Garden State Debate League (Most of NJ) League President Dee Burek: deeburek[at]gmail.com
Jersey Shore Debate League (Monmouth and Ocean Counties) League President Martin Tansey: mtansey[at]freeholdtwp.k12.nj.us

New York

Big Apple and Empire Debate Divisions (NYC and Westchester County) Contact the league sponsor, the English-Speaking Union, for more information: debate[at]esuus.org

But what about my state?

Want to bring debate to middle schoolers in your area? Please email Kate Shuster at kate.shuster[at]gmail.com and we'll work together to found a league!

Programs in East and South Africa:

Kenya

Asante Public Debate Program Click here for more information.

South Africa

SACEE Polokwane Contact the league sponsor, Tlou Mashitisho, for more information: contact[at]saceepolokwane.org.za

Tanzania

Asante Public Debate Program Click here for more information.